Company details
Stores support both shopping and digital delivery
Target operates one reportable segment, not separately disclosed store, digital or merchandise-category profit centers. At August 1, 2026, it had 2,019 stores. Those stores fulfilled 97.6% of second-quarter merchandise sales, including digitally ordered purchases: digital ordering and store fulfillment overlap rather than represent additive businesses. Owned and exclusive brands account for approximately 30% of annual merchandise sales and generally earn higher margins than equivalent national brands, but require longer sourcing lead times and earlier inventory ownership.
Advertising, memberships and marketplace commissions broaden the revenue mix. Second-quarter non-merchandise sales grew 20.1%, versus 5.0% for merchandise. Reported advertising revenue does not capture all Roundel activity because some arrangements reduce expenses instead. Target earns commissions on third-party marketplace sales, not their full merchandise value; TD Bank owns and funds the credit-card receivables underlying Target’s profit-sharing revenue. Individual channel and category profitability is not disclosed.
Sources: 10-K · 2026-01-31 · 10-Q · 2026-08-01 · EX-99 · 2026-08-19
Stronger cash generation meets rising investment needs
For the six months ended August 1, operating cash flow increased to $4.519 billion from $2.358 billion. Accounts payable provided $612 million after absorbing $1.125 billion a year earlier, while inventory absorbed $945 million. The improvement therefore reflects working-capital timing as well as earnings; it is not additional profit. Refunds were received, but their net cash contribution after related taxes is not separately isolated.
First-half property-and-equipment spending was $2.404 billion, alongside $1.034 billion of dividends and $1.070 billion of debt-reduction payments. Cash ended at $5.411 billion, slightly below fiscal year-end. Management attributed higher investment primarily to new stores and remodels. The annual report’s approximately $5 billion fiscal 2026 capital-spending plan was a forecast at that filing date; the August release did not supply a newly quantified full-year commitment. Target reported no first-half share purchases, yet its cash-flow statement recorded a $3 million repurchase outflow without reconciliation. The remaining $8.3 billion authorization is permission, not committed spending.
Sources: 10-Q · 2026-08-01 · 10-K · 2026-01-31 · EX-99 · 2026-08-19
Replacement financing extends maturity, not cash balances
August 1 current and noncurrent debt and other borrowings totaled $15.357 billion, down from $16.456 billion at fiscal year-end. Finance leases are already included; operating leases and purchase and real-estate commitments are separate obligations. On August 14, Target executed a $4 billion unsecured revolver expiring August 14, 2031, replacing two facilities totaling the same amount. It is financing capacity, not cash. Up to $1 billion of additional commitments and two one-year extensions are conditional and not reported as exercised.
The August 28 10-Q reports no facility or commercial-paper balances during its disclosed periods and reports covenant compliance. It does not establish numerical covenant headroom, exact borrowing costs, unconditional draw rights or subsequent utilization. Uncured defaults can accelerate obligations. Separately, certain notes have repayment rights linked to both a change of control and qualifying credit deterioration—not a downgrade alone.
Sources: 10-K · 2026-01-31 · 10-Q · 2026-08-01 · 8-K · 2026-08-14
The improved outlook still depends on execution and tariff policy
On August 19, management raised fiscal 2026 sales-growth guidance to around 5%, from around 4% in May. Expected operating margin of around 6% includes approximately 90 basis points from the received refund; excluding it, management expects around 50 basis points of improvement over fiscal 2025’s 4.6% adjusted margin. GAAP and adjusted EPS guidance of $9.90–$10.90 includes approximately $1.65 from that refund. Future refunds are excluded: outstanding claims remain unrecognized, with ultimate amounts and timing uncertain. These are conditional forecasts, not achieved full-year results.
Approximately half of merchandise offered is sourced outside the U.S., leaving tariffs, sourcing and pricing decisions important to margins and demand. Inventory markdowns, labor costs and transformation execution remain risks; future transformation charges and savings are unquantified. Advertising customers lack long-term commitments. Target also faces reputational and boycott exposure, securities litigation, Shipt worker-classification challenges and cyber and third-party dependencies. The 10-Q’s report of no material developments in previously reported proceedings does not mean those exposures disappeared. Boycott-related sales effects are not quantified.
Michael Fiddelke became CEO in February 2026, after fiscal year-end. Shareholders approved the incentive-plan restatement on June 10, reported June 12; that approval does not establish future dilution. The July 22 filing reported Joe DePinto’s July 18 election to the board, effective August 1, with Audit & Risk and Infrastructure & Finance committee assignments. Separately, the annual report described an agreed Ulta shop-in-shop expiration in August 2026, but the supplied disclosures do not establish completed termination or its financial effect.
Sources: EX-99 · 2026-05-20 · EX-99 · 2026-08-19 · 10-Q · 2026-08-01 · 10-K · 2026-01-31 · 8-K · 2026-06-10 · 8-K · 2026-07-18